Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 15, 2016

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations 2362-B Rayburn House Office Building United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Marcy Kaptur Ranking Member Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations 1016 Longworth House Office Building United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Simpson and Ranking Member Kaptur:

As you begin work on the fiscal year (FY) 2017 energy and water appropriations bill, we write to express our support for the President's budget request of \$2.898 billion for the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) and its critical programs that partner the federal government with industry, academia, and research facilities to secure America's energy future.

The American people expect us to work together to set priorities and make smart, strategic decisions about federal funding. That is why funding for EERE must be a priority in FY 2017. EERE plays a key role in advancing America's "all of the above" energy strategy, leading a large network of researchers and other partners to deliver innovative technologies that will help make renewable electricity generation more cost-competitive with traditional sources of energy. An overreliance on a limited range of fuel technologies and finite resources is shortsighted – our strength lays in our ability to transition to new, cleaner, more sustainable and more innovative sources of energy. We must invest to remain competitive, or we risk falling behind.

By prioritizing funding for EERE, Congress will be signaling to our scientists and engineers at home and around the world that we are serious about rising to meet the growing demand for cheaper, more sustainable energy. By preserving our capacity to innovate, we will continue to reduce our dependence on foreign sources of energy, enhance our competitiveness and create good American jobs well into the future. The United States should be leading the world in the search for better, safer, more affordable energy. For these reasons, we urge you to include \$2.898 billion for EERE in FY 2017.

Thank you for considering our request.

Sincerely,

malwell Pric Swalwell

Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

Alan Somethal

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

ames R. Langevin

Member of Congress

ne Bonnie Watson Coleman Joyce Beatty

Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

PUN CASTE

Joaquin Castro Member of Congress

Mike Thompson

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

ohn Yarmuth

Michelle h

Michelle Lujan Grisham Member of Congress

Michael F. Doyle Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

zabeth Esty

Elizabeth Laty Member of Congress

Denny Heck Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams

Prederica S. Wilson

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

2 drav alan y. nnc Alan Gravson

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Led W. Z

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Mark Takai Member of Congress

lember of Congres

Donald S. Beyer Jr.

Member of Congress

Scott Peters Member of Congress Member of Congress

James P. McGovern

Sam Farr

Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress



Sander Levin Member of Congress

ZoeL fgren

Member of Congress

Jared Polis / Member of Congress

on

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

han

Juan/Vargas Member of Congress

Michael M. Honda

Michael M. Honda Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

ill Josta **Bill** Foster

Loretta Sanchez Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Beto O'Rourke

O'Rourke.

Raul Ruiz

Member of Congress

Ed Perlmutter Member of Congress

Mather A Ca

Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

Mark Takano Kathleen M. Rice

Mark Takano K Member of Congress N

David Loebsack Member of Congress

John K. Delaney

Niki Tsongas

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ami Bera

Member of Congress

When thele

Chris Van Hollen Member of Congress

Katherine Clark

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Corrine Brown Member of Congress

Peter DeFazio Member of Congress

amy

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

annall, lijal F. Tunning Elijah E. Cummings Lois Capps Gerald E. Connolly

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline

Henry Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Keith Ellison

Nydia Velázquez

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

2

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Doris O. Matsui aniel Tipinchi

Daniel Lipinski Member of Congress

10 Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

DU Lloyd Doggett

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

an Alhalense

Janice D. Schakowsky Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Ben Ray Lujan Member of Congress

cee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

osh Us

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress

Charles B. Rangel Member of Congress

Luis V. Gutiérrez Member of Congress

John Sarbanes Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Brad Ashford Ann Kirkpatrick

Member of Congress

Patrick E. Murphy

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, III

Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Jarice Hahn Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Kick Jars

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Sio Sires

Member of Congress

ohn Garamendi Member of Congress

onto VR Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Member of Congress The

Chaka Fattah Member of Congress

ette D. Clorke

Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

6**Ry V**

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

ackie Speier Member of Congress

Jim McDermott Member of Congress

NOM sten Sinema

Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Efield L. Engel

Eliot L. Engel Member of Congress

Joughten

ouise M. Slaughter Member of Congress

peier

Jammy Rickwath el *lebbiert* Jim Himes Tamm Duckworth Debbie Dingell

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Raul M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence John B. on

Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

Tulsi Gabbard Member of Congress

Member of Congress

ared Huffman Member of Congress

12 Butterfield

mber of Congress

Emanu Member of Congress

uer John Conyers, Jr. Bill Pascrell Member of Congress Member of Congress

otte

Diana L. DeGette Member of Congress