## Conaress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 15, 2016

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman Energy and Water Development Appropriations Subcommittee House Appropriations Committee 2362-B Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur **Ranking Member** Energy and Water Development Appropriations Subcommittee House Appropriations Committee 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Simpson and Ranking Member Kaptur:

We are writing to express our strong support of President Obama's fiscal year (FY) 2017 budget request of \$330 million for the National Ignition Facility (NIF), located at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, under the National Nuclear Security Administration's (NNSA) Inertial Confinement Fusion and High Yield Campaign (ICF).

Failing to provide this stable and sufficient funding would have a negative impact on domestic fusion research at a critical juncture when major scientific breakthroughs are being achieved. Russia, China, and France have accelerated investments in this area to compete in inertial confinement fusion, but remain behind this premier U.S. facility. We must not cede American leadership, as this investment leads to the energy industry of the future.

To ensure the U.S. does not fall behind our competitors and continues to build upon the significant investments already made, it is essential that the NIF be given the sustained funding consistent with the President's budget request. We look forward to working with you to maintain and build on our country's leadership in inertial confinement fusion research and development, necessary to maintain our nuclear stockpile and develop the energy of the future.

Thank you for your consideration of our request.

Sincerely,

nalvel Eric Swalwell

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Alan Diayor

Alan Grayson Member of Congress

Matt Cartwright Member of Congress

ma B. Sshoo

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Michael M. Honda Member of Congress

Scott Peters Member of Congress

John Conyers Jr. *U* Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson/Lee Member of Congress

Keith Ellison Member of Congress

UNS

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

bn

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

en lackie Speier

Jackie Speier Member of Congress

Chaka Fattah Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

m Langevin

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Corrine Brown Member of Congress

Sewell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Saulier

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

avne.

Member of Congress

Jim McDermott Member of Congress

oma 7. Edwards

Donna F. Edwards Member of Congress